Presidency 2022-2027

On 21 April, 2022, in a landslide election, Dr. José Ramos-Horta was elected President of Timor-Leste for a second term. He had previous served as Foreign Minister and Senior Cabinet Minister (2000 – 2006), Prime Minister (2007 – 2008), and President (2008-2012).  Dr. Ramos-Horta was inaugurated and assumed office on 20 May, 2022, the 20th anniversary of Timor-Leste’s restoration of independence.